1916 Seachtar na Cásca to screen at Irish Film Festa 2016



1916 Seachtar na Cásca (The Easter Seven) is a seven part historical documentary series narrated by Brendan Gleeson and dedicated to the lives of the seven men who were the signatories of the 1916 Easter Proclamation: Thomas J. Clarke, Sean Mac Diarmada, James Connolly, P H Pearse, Éamonn Ceannt, Thomas MacDonagh, and Joseph Plunkett.

The 9th edition of Irish Film Festa (7 – 10 April, 2016) will screen a selection of episodes from Seachtar na Cásca, as a part of the special programme dedicated  to the Centenary of the Easter Rising, which in 1916 started the process that led to the Irish independence from the United Kingdom and the constitution of the Republic of Ireland.

The series is produced by Abú Media Films for TG4 in association with the BAI and is directed by Dathaí Keane; the script was written by Aindrias Ó Cathasaigh.